Nong Bua Lamphu, formerly part
of Udon Thani, became a province in December 1993. The new
province has a population of less than 500,000 and is divided
into five districts and one sub-district covering an area
of 3,860 square kilometres wedged between Loei and Udon Thani
provinces. The provincial town is located just 50 km west
of Udon Thani on Highway 210. Loei is 102 km due west on the
Nong Bua Lam Phu Attractions:
Wat Tham Klong Phen,
located in the foothills of the Phu Phan Mountains, is a well-known
meditation centre. Visitors pay homage to the shrine of the
late abbot Luang Pu Khao. The temple also contains an ancient
drum and the Phra Buddha Banthon Nimitr Buddha image.
Wat Tham or Wat Suphanna Khuha,
52 km from town, bears an old inscription indicating King
Chaichetha of Vientiane built the temple in 1572.
Tham Erawan is a large
cave in a hill which can be reached by climbing a winding
staircase. The main chamber has an impressive array of stalactites.
The cave is about 47 km from town just off Highway 210.
Noen Wat Pa is an old monastery
in Non Sang District, 51 km from Nong Bua Lamphu. The principal
attraction is a laterite Buddha image seated under a five-headed
naga. Artifacts from the area indicate Noen Wat Pa was originally
built in the Khmer period.
Phu Phan Kham National Park
is noted for its Phu Kao or "Nine Mountains". The nine-mountain
area in Nong Sang district boasts a wealth of forests and
wildlife. There are several waterfalls in the park but a visit
to Lan Hin Waterfalls in the park but a visit to Lan Hin Waterfall
with its jagged rocks and Tham Phahai, a cave with prehistoric
paintings, is a worthwhile excursion in the park.
Another highlight is a boat trip
on the reservoir which can be extended into an overnight stay.
The reservoir was formed by blocking the Pong River. The main
camping site is located 6 km from the dam.
The reservoir itself is dotted with island, and a small fishing
village in Nong Sang is worth a visit. The park's headquarters
are on the northern shore of the Ubol Ratana Reservoir.
Than Ngam, or "Beautiful
Stream", is a national park in Nong Saeng district. As its
name suggests, there is an abundance of streams. The park
is also noted for its waterfalls, caves and scenic stretches
of rocky landscape.
Monument of King Naresuan
the Great, which stands in the public park in Muang district,
honors the King who drove the Burmese out of Ayutthaya in
1593. Naresuan not only regained the territories belonging
to Ayutthaya, but added Chiang Mai to the Kingdom as well.
A ceremony is held here annually on 25 January.
Ban Kud Kho Mei and Ban Kud
Kwang Soi in Non Sang district are the site of ancient
settlements. Prehistoric artifacts have been discovered here
including pottery similar to that found at Ban Chiang in
Udon Thani province