Suphan Buri been properous since the Dvaravati
and was formerly called Phanchum Buri. It was
constructed during the year 877-882 A.D. on
the left bank of Tha Chin River in the vicinity
of Thambon Rua Yai adjacent to Tambon Phihan
Later on when the Phanchum era was over,
King Katae (half Thai-half Burmese) was crowned
and after ascending to the throne he commanded
the town to be moved to the right bank of the
Tha Chin River, to construct Wat Sanam Chai
and to restore Wat Pa Leylai. He then
2,000 officials to enter the monkhood.
of the town was then changed to be Song Phan
Buri (city of two thousands) Later on, King
U Thong moved the location to the southern bank
(west of Tha Chin River).
The city was given
a new name us U Thong until the reign of King
Khun Luang Pha Ngua when the name was changed
to Suphan Buri. Suphan Buri had been an important
border town involying battles and wars. This
caused regular damage through all ages in the
past until the Ratanakosin era during the reign
of King Rama VI. Then the Suphan Buri communities
were consolidated and settled down on the east
bank of the Tha Chin River (Suphan River) as
it is now. r>
Suphan Buri is located some 169 kilometers
from Bangkok (approximately 100 kilometers through
the new Nonthaburi-Suphan Buri Highway...from
the Khae Rai Intersection in Nonthaburi Province
it is only 72 kilometers to Suphan Buri) occupying
an area of 5,358 square kilometers and is administratively
divided into 10 Amphoses: Muang, Doembang Nangbuat,
Bang Pla Ma, Si Prachan, Song Phi Nong, Sam
Chuk, U Thong, Don Chedi, Dan Chang and Nong
Suphan Buri Attractions:
Pillar Shrine This shrine is located on the west bank of Suphan River (Tha Chin River) half a kilometer from the bridge.
The shrine was originally of typical wooden Thai design housing two Vishanu God statues carved out of green stone. It is now in the Chinese pavilion design.
This Chao Pho Lak Muang Shrine is highly revered by the inhabitants.
Wat Suwannaphum An abandoned monastery located at Mu 5 Tambon Sanam Chai, Amphoe Muang is one kilometer from the bank of the Suphan River to the east. Only ruins of the northern side of a large pagoda are left to be seen. It is estimated thai is height should be 70-80 meters if it were in perfect shape. Early in 1962 the Fine Arts Department attempted to rehabilitate the pagoda by searching for outstanding archaeological materials.
Nothing was found probably because they might have been taken away be smuggling searchers many years ago. Some human relics were found and it was assumed that they should belong to warriors who died on the battle field in ancient times, so the name of "Unknown Warrior Chedi" is given to this pagoda.
Wat Phra Si Ratana Mahathat This monastery is located in the vicinity of Tambon Rua Yai, Amphoe Muang on the bank of the Suphan River 200-300 meters from the bridge crossing the river. It is locally called Wat Phrathat and is over 600 years old. The main attraction is a large prang housing the Lord Buddha's relics.
It was probably built either during the reign of King U Thong (A.D. 1350-1369) or the reign of King Ramathibodi II (A.D.)1424-1448)