Samut Sakhon was formerly called Muang Tha Chin probable due
to its dealing with a vast number of Chinese junks in the old
days. Later, in the year 1548 during King Phra Maha Chakkraphat
reign, he commanded Muang Tha Chin to be used as the center for
recruiting troops from various seaside towns.
He changed the name
from Tha cin to Sakhon Buri.
In the year 1704 King Sua made a
royal visit by Ekkachai (the royal barge) through Khok Kham Canal
which is very curvy. Phanthai Norasing, the coxswain, could not
operate the proper steering thus causing damage to the prow due to
hitting the limb of a tree. To forester the steadiness of the
palace law, Phanthai Norasing
begged the king to slaughter him
King Sua then commanded to have a new canal be dug to eliminate
the sharp curves of Khok Kham Canal and the mouth of the new canal
meets the Tha Chin River in front of Mahachai Town. However, this
new canal was completed in the reign of King Thaisa and named
Khlong Mahachaithus causing the people to call this town Muang
Mahachai. Still later it was renamed Samut Sakhon during the reign
of King Rama IV but is till popularly called Mahachai by the
Samut Sakhon is administratively divided into three Amphoes: Muang
Samut Sakhon, Krathum Baen, and Ban Phaeo; it occupies a total
area of 872 square kilometers. It is located 28 kilometers from
Bangkok along Highway No.35, the Thon Buri-Pak Tho Highway and 38
kilometers along Highway No.4, the Petchakasem Highway through
Setthakit Road passing Amphoe Krathum Baen township area before
reaching the city site.
Samut Sakhon Attractions:
Wat Yai Chom Prasat This is an ancient monastery located in the vicinity of Tambon Tha
Chin, Amphoe Muang and presumed to have been built during the
Ayutthaya era. Door panels of the Ubosot having sophisticated
beautiful wood carving work in various floral designs are the main
attraction of this place.
Wat Sutthi Wata Wararam This monastery located in the vicinity of Tambon Tha Chalom, Amphoe
Muang is an old monastery built in the Ayutthaya period. Religeous
places in this monastery have been beautifully renovated. There is a
monument of King Rama V situated within a corner of the decorative
plants garden. While visiting this monastery, one can view the
scenery at the mouth of the Tha Chin River too.
Wichian Chodok Fortress This fortress located in the township area of Samut Sakhon was
constructed during the third reign (around A.D.1827) to prevent sea
invasion by an enemy. It can be seen as ruins nowadays. The cannons
which used to be housed in the fortress were moved to be displayed
in front of the City Pillar Shrine and Sala Klang.