is found in history as a part of Krund Si Ayutthaya.
In the year 1636 King Prasat Thong commanded
a canal dug as a short cut from Ban Talat Khwan
to the mouth of Bang Kruai Canal a total distance
of five kilometers. In the year 1665 King Narai
the Great gave a royal command to build a fortress
at the mouth of Khlong Mae Nam Om and the township
area was moved over there too.
was demolished during the reign of
III to reuse the bricks for the construction
of Wat Chalerm Phra Kiat. In the year 1928 King
Phra Pok Klao gave a royal command to relocate
the township area to the present site. Nonthaburi
was once consolidated with Krung Thep on January
1, 1943; however, it was re-established as an
independent province again on May 9, 1946. Nonthaburi
occupies an area of 622.3 square kilometers,
only 20 kilometers from Bangkok, and is conveniently
accessed by both land and water transportation.
It consists of six Amphoes : Muang, Pak Kret,
Bang Kruai, Bang Yai, Bang Bua Thong and Sai
Chaloem Phra Kiat This royal monastery in Tambon Bang Si Muang, Amphoe Muang, was
commanded by King Rama III to be constructed of bricks from the
demolition of a fortress built in the reign of King Narai the Great;
it was dedication to King Rama III's grandparents and the Princess
Mother. There are several religious buildings in the area. Inside
the main shrine hall (Ubosot) are beautiful mural paintings while
beautiful stucco designs decorated with porcelain on the gable and
door and window frames are seen outside.
Khema Phirataram Also a royal monastery, it is on Phiboon Songkhram Road, Tambon
Suan Yai, Amphoe Muang, two kilometers from the provincial township
area. It was built in the Ayutthaya period and was renovated in
the reigns of Kings Rama II and IV of the Ratanakosin era. Buddha
images of the Ayutthaya period are in the Ubosot, Tamnak Daeng Building,
and Phra Thinang Monthian Hall.
Ku Located in the vicinity of Tambon Bang Phut, Amphoe Pak Kret, four
kilometers from the district township area, this monastery was constructed
at the time when the Mon people led by Phraya Cheng migrated into
the Kingdom during the reign of King Taksin of the Thon Buri era.
Construction is of Mon architecture having mural paintings in Mon
style. There is a building constructed to commemorate King Rama
V's Queen Sunantha who was drowned by shipwreck; her body was temporarily
placed in the monastery perior to transfer into Bangkok.
This monastery is on Bang Kruai - Bang Bua Thong Road in the area
of Tambon Bang Krang, Amphoe Muang. The Ubosot is of Ayutthaya art
having sophisticated craftsmanship. The designs on the gable of
the niche entering the Ubosot and the mural paintings maintain special
characteristics of the Nonthaburi school of arts which have always
been visited by archaeological students. More